print preview

Educ has new dean

For posterity: Dr. Alonzo and Chancellor Saloma with the College of Education faculty and staff (from left) Prof. Romylyn E. Metila, Dr. Lourdes R. Baetiong, Dr. Ma. Lourdes G. Tayao, Prof. Vanessa P. Lusung-Oyzon and Maria Elena B. Alvarez

(April 11)— Dr. Rosario I. Alonzo is the new Dean of the College of Education (CE). Her appointment was announced by the Office of the Secretary of the University through Memorandum No. OSU 13-08 on February 28. Alonzo serves a 3-year term effective March 1 to February 28, 2016.

Alonzo earned a PhD in Filipino Translation from the College of Arts and Letters in 1997 and two degrees from CE namely MEd Second Language Teaching (1979) and BSE English (1972).

She served the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs (OVCAA) as Director of Instruction from 2005 to 2011 and as Program Development Associate from 2002-2005.

Her more recent publications include “Baryasyon at Varayi ng Wika” in Peregrino, Jovy et al (Eds) 2012 Salindaw (Mga Babasahin para sa Antas Tersyarya). Diliman: SWF; and Interacting Theology, Culture and the English Language with E. Grace Gaston in the Education Quarterly v. 69 no. 1 Dec. 2011.

She has presented papers in international conferences, the most  recent of which include: “Vocabulary Development through Collocation and Colligation” at the TESOL International Conference in New Orleans, USA  from March 15 to 19, 2011; “Southeast Asian English Teachers Associations: Advocacy and Concerns” at the 16th World Congress of the Association Internationale de Linguistique Appliquee  in Beijing, China from August 23to 28, 2011 and “Confronting Misconceptions in Second Language Learning” at PALT 50th Anniversary and 6th International Conference at the School of Labor and Industrial Relations at UP Diliman in December 2010.

Among her more recent awards are the Gawad Kolehiyo on ICT Integration (2011-2012) from the CE, the Prof. Esperanza B. Bautista Excellence in Teaching Award (2007-2008) and the Jack C. Richards Professorial Chair (2007-2008, 2008-2009).

She is affiliated with the Philippine Association for Language Teaching, where she is Country Affiliate of TESOL International and the State Universities and College Teacher Educators Association. She is also a member of the following international honor societies: Phi Kappa Phi, Pi Gamma Mu and Phi Theta Lambda.