print preview

28 faculty members named UP Artists

Artist III recipients: Prof. Jose Y. Dalisay (literary works), Prof. Gerard Rey A. Lico (architecture) and Prof. Josefino J. Toledo (music and dance)

(August 15) — UP recognized the hard work and creative outputs of its finest artists during the awarding ceremony of the 2011 and 2012 UP Arts Productivity System (APS) at the Ang Bahay ng Alumni on August 7.

Twenty-eight faculty members were appointed as UP Artists of various ranks. Of the total, 26 or 92.8 percent were from Diliman.

The UP APS is the counterpart for the arts of the UP Scientific Productivity System, approved by the Board of Regents (BOR) at its 1239th meeting on December 7, 2008. Now on its second cycle, the awards system motivates “outstanding productivity in the creative arts or in arts scholarship for national development.”

Three were named Artist III; Prof. Jose Y. Dalisay (literary works), Prof. Gerard Rey A. Lico (architecture) and Prof. Josefino J. Toledo (music and dance).

Thirteen were awarded Artist II: Prof. Jonas Baes (music and dance); Prof. Yason B. Banal (fine arts); Prof. Alexander C. Cortez (theatre); Prof. Sari Raissa L. Dalena (film); Prof. Leonilo O. Doloricon (fine arts); Prof. Josefina F. Estrella (theatre); Prof. Eugene Y. Evasco (literary works); Prof. Patrick D. Flores (fine arts); Prof. Ruben Fortunato M. De Jesus (fine arts); Prof. Maria Christine M. Muyco (music and dance); Prof. Dexter M. Santos (theatre); Prof. Danilo A. Silvestre (architecture); Prof. Roland B. Tolentino (literary works) and Prof. Rosario T. Yu (literary works).

First row from left: Dr. Antoinette Bass-Hernandez, Dr. Cristina Pantoja-Hidalgo, June Dalisay, Prof. Jose Dalisay, UP Mindanao Chancellor Dr. Sylvia Concepcion, Prof. Leonilo Doloricon, Prof. Ricardo De Ungria, Prof. Priscelina Legasto, Prof. Grace Alfonso, UP Vice President for Academic Affairs Prof. Gisela Concepcion, Prof. Layeta Bucoy, Prof. Maria Christine Muyco, National Artist for Literature Bienvenido Lumbera, UPLB Chancellor Dr. Rex Cruz and UPD Chancellor Dr. Caesar A. Saloma. Second row from left: Prof. Victor Emmanuel Carmelo Nadera, Dr. Gemino Abad, Prof. Danilo Arao, Prof. Ruben Fortunato De Jesus, Prof. Roland Tolentino, Prof. Gerard Rey Lico, Prof. Jose Danilo Silvestre, Prof. Jonas Baes, Prof. La Verne Dela Peña, UP President Alfredo Pascual, Prof. Josefino Toledo, Prof. Reuben Cañete, Prof. Dexter Santos, Prof. Yason Banal, Prof. Eugene Evasco, Prof. Ma. Eileen Ramirez and Prof. Alexander Cprtez.

Ten were appointed Artist I: Prof. Grace J. Alfonso (film); Prof. Danilo A. Arao (radio, television and related media); Prof. Fernando A. Austria Jr. (radio, television and related media); Prof. Reuben R. Cañete (fine arts), Prof. Jose Neil Carmelo Garcia (literary works); Prof. Priscelina P. Legasto (scholarly works); Prof. Victor Emmanuel Carmelo D. Nadera Jr. (literary works); Prof. La Verne C. Dela Peña and Prof. Ma. Eileen L. Ramirez (fine arts).

The two other awardees were Prof. Layeta P. Bucoy, of UP Los Baños (Artist II) and Prof Ricardo M. De Ungria, of UP Mindanao (Artist I). Both are for the literary works category.

At the awarding ceremony, UP President Alfredo E. Pascual said the honorees, by consistently bringing honor to the University through their creative productions, truly embody UP’s genuine character as center of culture and the arts in the country.

As UP artist, may you continue to inspire our community and the rest of the country in embracing creativity as a way of life,” Pascual said.

UP Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Gisela P. Concepcion, said awardees were evaluated using criteria of high standards which enable both UP artists and scholars to take their rightful place in the University’s community of artists/scholars.

“The title is conferred on only the most deserving, determined by a rigid screening system designed by a committee of peers,” Concepcion exlained.

The appointment as UP Artist is for a period of three years and carries monetary rewards of P120,000, P144,000 and P180,000 annually, for Artist I, II and III respectively. — ACG; Photos by L.A.R.