print preview

UHS furthers collaboration with UPD

(February 14)—The University of Houston System (UHS) through (fifth from left, front row) Vice Chancellor for International Studies and Programs Jerald W. Strickland and (center) UPD through Chancellor Caesar A. Saloma signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) to further collaboration through mutual cooperation and academic programs in instruction, research and faculty development among the faculty and students of both institutions.

The MOU, signed on February 2 at the Office of the Chancellor in Quezon Hall, also aims to enhance the international experience of faculty and students in the areas of research, joint academic programs and collaborations; and exchange of faculty and students. The University officials who will serve as coordinators for the program are (second from left, second row) Dr. Arnold M. Guloy of the UH Department of Chemistry and (first from left, front row) Dr. Cristine DLR. Villagonzalo, UPD Office of Extension Coordination director.

Among the witnesses to the MOU signing were (from left to right, front row) Professor Florian Del Mundo, Institute of Chemistry director; Dr. Ben Paul Gutierrez, College of Business Administration dean; University of Houston (UH) deans Joseph Tedesco and Mark Smith, Dr. Gisela P. Concepcion, vice president for academic affairs; Dr. Adelaida V. Mayo, College of Home Economics dean; and Dr. Benito M. Pacheco, vice chancellor for research and development.

Also present were (from left to right, second row) Dr. Gerry Nuesca, IC associate professor; Dr. Arnold M. Guloy of the UH Department of Chemistry; Dr. John Bear, UH deans William Fitzgibbon and John Roberts; Dr. Jose Maria P. Balmaceda, College of Science dean; Dr. Menandro S. Berana, College of Engineering’s Graduate Instruction and Research associate dean; Dr. Michael L. Tan, College of Social Sciences and Philosophy dean; Dr. Rizalinda De Leon, Department of Chemical Engineering chair; and Dr. Rhodora M. Gonzales, CoE’s Institutional Linkages associate dean.

After the MOU signing, the UH delegates had a meeting with President Pascual and other UP System officials. They also visited the Joya exhibit at the Bulwagan ng Dangal and proceeded with tour of the buildings and laboratories of CSSP, CHE, CoE (Electronics and Electrical Engineering Institute and the Department of Mechanical Engineering) and CS (IC, National Institute of Physics and Institute of Mathematics). Following the tour, the UH delegates went to the Executive House for a dinner hosted by the Office of the President.—H.C.P.