print preview

Nine receive 2012 Gawad Chanselor
Incentives for UPD’s highest recognition increased

Host Dr. Jovy M. Peregrino

Chancellor Caesar A. Saloma

It was the leanest crop in the recent years: only nine UP Diliman constituents received the Gawad Chanselor, the university’s highest recognition for excellence in performance, at ceremonies held February 24 at the NISMED Auditorium.  Of the nine, five were from the College of Science.

The recent awardees comprised two faculty members, two Research and Extension Professional Staff four students and one administrative staff.  According to UPD Chancellor Caesar A. Saloma, nominees to the award went through “an elaborate screening process that includes the fulfillment of pre-defined minimum requirements that are clearly set by committee of peers and approved by the chancellor.”

Despite the small circle of winners, additional incentives, which Saloma called its “tangible value,” more than enhanced the award’s worth.

“Each recipient of the Gawad Chanselor para sa Natatanging Guro (GCNG) is now awarded a Centennial Professorial Chair worth P100,000, a Research Dissemination Grant (RDG) of $1,500 in addition to the cash award of P100,000,” Saloma announced during the program.

The cash award of P100,000 for the GCNG’s academic unit’s use for Maintenance and Other Operating Expenses (MOOE) still applied to the category.

Saloma added “the Gawad Chanselor Natatanging REPS is also awarded an RDG of $1,500 in addition to the cash award of P40,000. But now, his or her academic unit will be allocated P40,000 for MOOE and equipment purposes. Each recipient of the Gawad Chanselor Natatanging Kawani receives the usual cash award of P40,000 and his or her academic unit will be allocated the same amount for MOOE and equipment purposes.”

Of the 20 nominations for the GCNG this year, chosen were Ernelea P. Cao, PhD and Dr. Marian P. Roque.

Cao is a professor at the CS’ Institute of Biology and director of the Natural Sciences Research Institute.

Accepting the award, Cao said:  “It is the ultimate fulfillment of any teacher to produce academic sons and daughters.” Commenting on the glowing video testimony of former students, she added: “I am very happy; I was really touched by the comments of my former students and my colleagues in the institute who are my academic sons. I can retire because meron na akong kapalit.”

Summarizing the role of teachers in the university, she said; “In the academe, you never stop learning, you have to keep growing like a plant, to keep on developing, to keep retooling. It is this cycle of mentoring that would continue this cycle of academic life.”

Roque, meanwhile, is a professor and current director of the CS’ Institute of Mathematics.

Accepting the award, she said: “God made the universe in the language of mathematics. Sa kasamaang palad, hindi naiintindihan ng nakararami, o kaya’y ayaw intindihin at hindi pinagtutuunan ng pansin. Minsan nakakalimutan natin na ang matematika ang pundasyon ng siyensya at teknolohiya. Ito ang lengguwaheng nagbubuklod sa mga siyentista, pati na rin sa mga artista. Bilang isang propesor ng matematika, adhikain ko na mapaintindi ang matematika, ang kahalagahan nito ang ang kanyang kagandahan sa pamamaraan na hindi kailangan lumuha o mag-nose bleed ang mag-aaral. Sa aming institute, mithiin namin na pagbutihin ang aming pagtuturo, palawakin at makilalala ang aming pananaliksik, i-angat ang antas ng matematika at edukasyon hindi lamang sa UP kundi sa ating bansa.” 

College of Music faculty Greg de
Leon and Fame Flores

(Unfortunately, many do not understand or refuse to understand and pay attention to it. Sometimes, we forget that mathematics is the foundation of science and technology. It is the language that unites scientists, even artists. As a mathematics professor, I strive to make mathematics understood, its importance and its beauty in a manner that will not make students cry or have nose bleeds. At our institute, our goals are to improve teaching and widen the scope and dissemination of our researches, raise the level of mathematics and education not only in UP but the whole country.”

The awardees for Natatanging REPS were Vanissa A. Ong of the NSRI and Marian S. Ramos of the General Reference and Electronic Resources Section of the University Library.  Dr. Windell R. Rivera, head of the Molecular Protozoa Laboratory of the NSRI, received the award for Ong, who was at Queensland University of Technology for her PhD Science major in Cell and Molecular Biotechnology Sciences.

Six were nominated for the Natataging REPS category.

The four recipients of the Natatanging Mag-aaral award were Noel L. Bernardo of the CS’ National Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology; Darlene Loraine S. Que of the College of Engineering’s Department of Chemical Engineering; Ada Marie S. Tayao of the College of Education’s  Division of Curriculum and Instruction; and  Juan Carlo P. Tejano of the College of Social Sciences and Philosophy’s Department of Political Science.  These student were chosen from 16 nominees.

Alvin DC. Mallari, again of the NSRI, was the sole Natatanging Kawani awardee, besting 19 other nominees.

Now on its 20th year, the Gawad Chanselor was meant “to encourage members of the UP community—from the students, faculty, administrative staff and REPS to uphold the highest standards of excellence in performing their duties and consequently, to honor those whose excellence is most distinct among their colleagues and peers,” Saloma said.

Hosted by College of Arts and Letters professor Dr. Jovy M. Peregrino, the program also featured musical numbers by College of Music faculty Greg de Leon (tenor) and Fame Flores (soprano).

Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Ronald S. Banzon and head of the program steering committee closed the ceremony by thanking the various subcommittees involved in the program and the individuals who served as judges in the award’s three categories. –Chi A. Ibay