print preview

Saloma fetes football and table tennis teams

(March 22)—UPD Chancellor Caesar A. Saloma hosted a victory dinner for the Fighting Maroons football and table tennis (women’s) teams on March 15 at the University Theater Lobby.   

Both teams who respectively won the championship in the football and table tennis games during the 2011 University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) Season ‘74 competition presented their trophies to the Chancellor.

Aside from the championship award, team captains Bea Magpantay and Nathan Octavio of the table tennis and football teams, respectively, bagged the UAAP Season 74 Most Valuable Player award. Other football team members who also earned special awards were Michael Simms (Rookie of the Year), Nii Aryee Ayi (Best Midfielder) and Tyrone Caballes (Best Goalkeeper).

Also present during the dinner were Dr. Ronald S. Banzon, vice chancellor for academic affairs; Dr. Cynthia Grace C. Gregorio, former vice chancellor for community affairs; Prof. Ruben D.F. Defeo, Office for Initiatives in Culture and the Arts and Diliman Information Office director; Prof. Oscar Yoshihiro Santelices, table tennis coach; Mario Santos, Leonard de Leon and Angelo Marcelino who are members of the table tennis coaching staff; and Andres Gonzales, football team coach.

Dr. Leilani L. Gonzalo, College of Human Kinetics (CHK) dean, hosted the event. —H.C.P.