print preview

CFA thesis grantees launch exhibit

(From left) Chancellor Caesar A. Saloma, CFA
Prof. Santiago Pilar and (standing) CFA dean
Prof. Florentina Colayco examined TSF grantee
Dawani C. de Leon’s masterpiece entitled
Omnipresent Inner Light.

(May 8)—Thirtystudent artists from the College of Fine Arts (CFA) who were granted with the thesis support fund (TSF) formally launched an exhibit of their works on April 18 at the CFA Amorsolo Hall.

The TSF was initially proposed by Colayco in October 2007 to allow deserving student artists an individual grant of P18,000 as financial support to complete their theses and to hold an exhibition of their works. The proposal was approved by the Board of Regents on January 25, 2008. 

Among the thesis grantees from the Studio Arts Department were Catalina S. Africa, Dean Zuberi S. Africa, Ralph Louis R. Barrientos, Dawani C. De Leon, Pamela Always O. Lastimosa, Ralph Daniel C. Lumbres, Jose Ma. P. Tanierla and Jocelyn Claire S. Yabes.

For the Industrial Design Department, the thesis grantees were Aaron Benedict O. Alfaro, Reynaflor E. Arciaga, Tracy Julian M. Cheng, Nazarina F. Jose, Pauline B. Millar, Roselini Luis C. Tejada, and Ryan John L. Tresvalles.

For the Visual Communication Department, the TSF grantees were Angela Ingrid B. Alcala, Micaella T. Anunciacion, Renee Joy F. Basa, Patricia Joyce B. Basmayor, Jorge Benedict M. Cunanan, Lara C. Espineda, Marichu P. Garra,  Eira Jerika T. Gemanil,  Krizia Kaita A. Jimenez, George Ian Joseph F. Lucero, Mikael Kevin S. Marchan, Elyse Janina A. Pilapil, Loreta Pamela L. Reyes, Katrina Zharlene V. Vargas and Valerie Jan U. Villaflor.

UPD Chancellor Caesar A. Saloma led the ribbon-cutting ceremony and provided an inspirational message to the thesis grantees. Prof. Florentina Colayco, CFA dean, delivered the opening remarks.

The exhibit ran until April 30.