print preview

List of Fellows to the 6th Palihang Rogelio Sicat Announced

The UP Department of Filipino and Philippine Literature is proud to announce the fifteen fellows to the 6th Palihang Rogelio Sicat (PRS6) to be held on May 22 to 26 in UP Diliman, Quezon City.

The fellows are Kevin Armingol, John Barrios (Aklanon), Jowian Mariano, Jayson Ongose Paderon, and Abby Pariente for fiction; Laurence Marvin Castillo, Jonathan Vergara Geronimo, and Christina Angela Guevarra for the essay; Desiree L. Balota (Cebuano), Frances Kimberly Baraoidan, Dennis Espada, Emmanuel Halabaso, Michael Non, John Carlo I. Pacala, and Mark Rafal for poetry.

“PRS now welcomes works in other Philippine languages and through its translation into Filipino, we hope to strengthen links of the literatures from Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao,”said Dr. Jimmuel Naval, one of the workshop directors.

National Artist for Literature Bienvenido Lumbera will grace the opening program. Dr. Rosario Cruz Lucero, respected critic and fictionist, is going to deliver a lecture on the significance of literatures from the region.

Distinguished workshop panelists include Ricky Lee and Luna Sicat-Cleto for fiction; Marne Kilates and Joey Baquiran for poetry; Eugene Evasco and Elyrah Salanga-Torralba for the essay, as well as Ed Maranan, Jess Santiago, and Psyche Mendoza for literature and other related disciplines.

The PRS6 directors are Reuel Aguila and Jimmuel Naval. This year, writers Eugene Evasco and Luna Sicat-Cleto will serve as co-directors.

The UP Department of Filipino and Philippine Literature spearheads PRS6, with support from the UP College of Arts and Letters, Office for Initiatives in Culture and the Arts (OICA), and the Office of the Chancellor, UP Diliman.