print preview

Cao awards 15 for excellence
Summarizes his administration’s accomplishments at his last Gawad Chanselor program.

Natatanging Guro 2006-2011

Natatanging Kawani 2006-2011

Natatanging REPS 2006-2011

(March 9)--Six faculty members, three each of students, Research and Extension Professional Staff (REPS) and administrative personnel were awarded the Gawad Chanselor in rites held at the NISMED Auditorium on February 24.

The six faculty members are: Dr. Laura T. David (Marine Science Institute, College of Science/CS), Dr. Rowena Cristina L. Guevara (Electrical and Electronics Engineering Institute, College of Engineering/CoE); Dr. Ricardo T. Jose (Department of History, College of Social Sciences and Philosophy), Dr. Lily Rose R. Tope (Department of English and Comparative Literature, College of Arts and Letters), Dr. Annabelle A. Herrera (Institute of Biology/IB, CS) and Dr. Erlinda S. Echanis (Department of Accounting and Finance, College of Business Administration).

The students were: Jhud Mikhail O. Aberilla (Department of Chemical Engineering/DCE,CoE), Sean Vincent L. Aquilino (IB,CS) and Nicole Andrea S. Yazon (DCE, CoE).

The REPS were: Joel F. Ariate Jr. (Third World Studies Center), Gayvelline C. Calacal (Natural Sciences Research Institute/NSRI) and Dr. Merle C. Tan (National Institute for Science and Mathematics Education Development).

Finally, the administrative staff recognized were: Jenalyn V. Cruz (NSRI), Eva Garcia-Cadiz (UP Institute of Creative Writing), and Ruth Agnes L. Manalo (UP Health Service).

In his welcome remarks, UPD chancellor Dr. Sergio S. Cao said the program is the last to be staged by his administration and that the award is the highest recognition for UPD faculty, students, REPS and administrative staff. He said since this was his last program, he is taking the opportunity to mention some of the accomplishments of his administration. Among these were: the new admission formula for UPD, support for new PhD through the PhD Incentive program, a new process to select Professor Emeriti, the Support Fund for Young Artists and the endowment fund for Gawad Saliksik sa Wika.

Cao also pointed out that colleges are now given 20 percent of tuition income and the UPD Administration had established 200 slots for the Centennial Professorial Chairs at P100,000 each. He likewise mentioned the increase in the Administrative Development Fund from P1 million to P5 million to support the research dissemination of REPS and administrative staff.

In terms of benefits, Cao mentioned the 15 days sick leave benefit for the faculty that may be monetized upon retirement, the Financial Assistance Program for Hospitalization Expenses in the amount of P200,000 per employee and the additional 10 percent discount at the Philippine General Hospital on top of the 20 percent discount for government employees.

Cao said it was during his administration that UPD had new dormitories constructed—the Centennial Dorm, and two days earlier, groundbreaking rites were held for the Acacia Residence Halls. He said based on his computation, the UPD Administration spent some P70 million to rehabilitate the dormitories on campus, which is on top of the P167 million for the Acacia dorm.
He said UPD created 120 new faculty items from unfilled low salary-grade administrative items and that the campus has now implemented an optional car sticker policy.

He said his End-of-Term Report will be released within the day.

Cao stressed that these accomplishments are a product of his administration’s collective leadership. He congratulated the winners and in closing, he said everyone in the audience is transient since the university needs the new and the old must go. But not everyone is transient, he said, and the awardees are the best examples.

–Chi A. Ibay